11-4-15: The Holy Spirit “SPA TREATMENT” For the Bride of Christ

Revelation 19:6-8 –
Then I heard something like the voice of a great multitude and like the sound of many waters and like the sound of mighty peals of thunder, saying, “Hallelujah! For the Lord our God, the Almighty, reigns. Let us rejoice and be glad and give the glory to Him, for the marriage of the Lamb has come and His bride has made herself ready. It was given to her to clothe herself in fine linen, bright and clean; for the fine linen is the righteous acts of the saints.”

image
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“The Holy Spirit ‘SPA TREATMENT’. . . sounds lovely, doesn’t it?

image

What does that ‘Spa Treatment’ really feel like?   IT’S PAINFUL!!!

image

What does that ‘Spa Treatment’ look like?
ALL OF THE IDOLS IN OUR LIFE MUST BE SMASHED!!!

image

What if we don’t SMASH the idols in our life?  The mercy of the Heavenly Father is to do that for us. . . . it’s the “REFINER’S FIRE” . . to bring us to repentance, cleansing, healing, forgiveness. . . to be ready for our Soon-coming KING of Kings and LORD of Lords, Jesus Christ.

Hebrews 12:6-7  “For those whom the Lord loves He disciplines, and He scourges every son whom He receives.” It is for discipline that you endure; God deals with you as with sons; for what son is there whom his father does not discipline.”

image

What are “idols” anyway? “I don’t have any idols!!!” (most “Christians” would say). It’s this:  ANYTHING we turn to FIRST and trust in FIRST before going to Jesus. (Did I just hear a YIKES there?)

image

What are some idols that professing Christians worship? (and notice/think about the “I” / “my”):

SPORTS (my football team, my baseball team, my soccer team, etc.)

MONEY (bank accounts, retirement accounts, disability checks, “food stamps”, etc.)

SELF (“I have to do it this way” . . . or “I have talent” . . . “my ministry”. . . “my plans” . . . etc,)

PETS (“My precious little ___” . . .”I would NEVER give up my pet” . . . “I prefer animals to people”. . etc)

CHURCH (“my church”  . . . “my doctrine” . . “my pastor” . . . “my denomination”)

RELATIONSHIPS (“I keep looking for a mate” . . . “my marriage” . . “my spouse” . . “my family” . . .)

JOBS (“I worked hard to get this promotion” . . . “I’m now making a great salary”)

FREEDOM (“I have the right to _____” . . . . “I’ll shoot first and ask questions later” . . etc.)

PATRIOTISM (“I’m a full-fledged, gun-totin’, American-born Constitutionalist and I have the right to _______ and I will ______”)

AND MANY MORE . . . . .

image
SO, what’s the point to this post?

It’s a REMINDER that our MAIN priority is JESUS FIRST!!! NOT the blessings we have been given.

image

AND THIS:
If you are not already in “the refiner’s fire” . . . then get ready for the Holy Spirit “Spa Treatment” . . . it WILL BE and IS painful, but OH THE JOY when our LORD returns!!!

image

11-5-15 – POST-PUBLISH NOTE:  This article is not to bring condemnation, a “religious spirit”, fear or anxiety, but to bring reflection.  Yes, ENJOY the blessings in our life, absolutely, but when these blessings become the first priority and focus, then ask yourself:  “Is JESUS first in my life?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

PLEASE NOTE: ANY ADS LOCATED ON MY BLOGS ARE NOT MY CHOICE, NOR DO I ENDORSE ANY OF THE THEM. . . I have a free account from WordPress, which may place ads of their choosing on my posts. I suppose it’s a good example of “you get what you pay for”. Currently “free” is all I can afford, but THANK YOU JESUS, I’m able to do this at all.

21 thoughts on “11-4-15: The Holy Spirit “SPA TREATMENT” For the Bride of Christ

  1. Linda, we operate on such a parallel wavelength, it would be spooky if it weren’t God. 😮

    Today I had a low spot in the afternoon when I was just discombobulated from the warfare. As I made a cup of coffee, I decided to make it a mocha, and got out the tub of chocolate-milk powder to add. It was fast and easy, and I was soon enjoying my hot drink.

    Except that the Holy Spirit convicted me that, once again, I had turned to a food (chocolate) to help me feel better rather than God.

    Lord, thank You for reminding me. Again. Please don’t give up on me! I’m sorry for putting Anything before You, and especially something so trivial as chocolate. I truly repent, and resolve to turn to You first when I need comfort. Please forgive me, Jesus. Thank You. I receive Your forgiveness. Lord, would You please grab my attention if ever I am about to do this again? Thank You in advance. I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for sharing that, Debra. I think we all have times when we turn to something else first.. . . and we’re all facing or currently in the “Holy Spirit Spa Treatment” . . . OUCH!!! and “Thank you Jesus” (but still “OUCH”).

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I need to clarify . . . different people may have different “idols” and they won’t be the same for each person. So, if anybody reads this comment thread . . . eating chocolate is not necessarily an idol. . . nor would having a pet, or a job or other an “idol” . . it’s when that thing has predominant focus in our life, or we reach to that for comfort, or “hope”. May the Holy Spirit help each one of us turn to Jesus First. Mey we not become anxious or fearful wondering “is this _______an idol?” . . . The Holy Spirit will lead us into truth, with conviction and there will be peace.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for clarifying. It has been a challenge to know what an idol is in my life while living
        in a world full of idols. It is like the days of Solomon. It is a blessing to finally know what the idol is and then repenting. This is a very serious subject. It is my prayer that the Lord’s people come out of the beast system, repent and follow His ways so that we are ready for His return. So that we may walk righteously into His kingdom that He has prepared for us. May He bless all of us with His understanding.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You are welcome, Charlie . . . I’ll also clarify/update in the article as well. It was not meant to bring condemnation, but to bring reflection, with prayers. Blessings to you, my brother and thank you for stopping by.

          Like

      2. Exactly!

        But in my case, with a background as an abuse survivor, I developed a consistent pattern of turning to chocolate – or the whole food cupboard! – as a means to feel better. I not only turned food into an idol, but now I’ve been struggling for nearly 30 years to lose the extra weight.

        Yet my God is faithful, and He is helping me turn even from this as I receive His complete and total healing from the abuse and the strongholds it led me to set up. Praise God! 🙌😀🙌

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hi Debra,
          I also turned to food from a young age and can easily “go that route” any time. Only the LORD can help us have a balance, because food is necessary for our existence and it is to be enjoyed. THANK YOU JESUS. . . He came to set us free and that is from any addictions, no matter what form they take. He has helped me maintain a reasonable weight, after decades of weight /food problems. . . but it has been a long journey and “dying to self” that continues.

          Like

    3. Sister I do not know you but when I read what you wrote I prayed for you– We are not to live in grief as this– I asked the Lord for a scripture for you and the very first scripture I saw was this–Nehemiah 8:10Then he said to them, “Go, eat of the fat, drink of the sweet, and send portions to him who has nothing prepared; for this day is holy to our Lord. Do not be grieved, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.

      He loves you so much that HE choose this verse just for you.. May you experience HIS joy today ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, Donise, prayers are ALWAYS needed and welcomed. Some days there is grief, especially when I’m shown things by the Holy Spirit for intercession, which He calls me to do. Also, excellent Scriptural verse to remember: “the joy of the LORD is your strength”.

        The “balance” is difficult sometimes, because I literally feel the grief of the LORD over situations. . . yes, His joy as well, but the dire times we are in and what’s unfolding sends me to intercession many times. So yes, prayers needed. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My dear, dear Sister, Donise~~ What a sweetheart you are! I originally thought that your reply was written to Linda, but now I perceive that you were writing to me. Thank you so much for your kind words to encourage me, and for petitioning our Lord for His words to give me! While I did not see myself as being grief-stricken that day, I was surely not in the joy of the Lord, either. Your words, and His, did indeed lift me up that day – and all over again now as I reread them.

        Donise, I believe 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 is especially for you. “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of Compassion and the God of all comfort, (4) who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” The word “troubles” is rendered “tribulations” in the KJV. This verse takes on a deeper level of meaning when viewed from our unique, end-times perspective, as tribulations are released around the globe. Donise, God has not only made you to be an empath, feeling the emotions experienced by others (even when they suppress and refuse to acknowledge them), but He has gifted you with an extra measure of His love for them. You are especially qualified by Him to comfort those in any trouble, and to share the good news of salvation in Jesus Christ with those who do not know Him.

        When you comfort them with His comfort, and they know that you care, then they will care what you know, and their hearts will be more receptive to respond to the conviction of the Holy Spirit through the words He gives you to speak at the time. You are exceedingly blessed by the Lord, Donise.

        Sending you my love and blessings,
        Debra Walker <

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Amen & Amen! Times are getting difficult, as I have to take “me” out of the equation or something will result in failure. It’s hard for us to break bad habits, but they do have there rewards in heaven 🙂 The best example of taking “me” out of the equation — Pray first about anything that is needing attention. Sometimes we may say this is what “I’ want and pray about it, but it may not be what the Lord has in mind. Instead of praying about something wanted, give the problem to the Lord and let him handle the situation — his timing is always perfect.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sometimes I think we all have too much “me” and “I” in us. Only the LORD can help us have a “balance” where we enjoy His blessings, but keep Him as LORD. He will lead us with peace and as we walk with Him more, we’ll know in our heart “do this” and “don’t do this”, while enjoying His presence and the goodness He brings in our lives . . . BUT not having a “religious spirit” that binds us. When we don’t have peace about something, that is when we need to stop and pray.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love it–Exfoliate comes to mind—and when all the dead skin comes back we exfoliate again and again to keep purified before HIM— Lord let us help those that have not been through this process–Let us walk them through until they can start going through alone and learn as we have to count it all joy– AMEN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Excellent thoughts, Donise and AMEN.

      LORD help us continue to submit to Your cleansing work, preparing us for Your return.

      “For I am confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.” ~ Philippians 1:6

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Excellent words, Bette. The LORD will help us both enjoy the blessings He has given to us, while keeping us on the “straight and narrow road” that Jesus said “few will find” (Matthew 7:13-14).

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Lord is teaching me this. He wants me to run to Him before calling a dear Christian sister for prayer or help. And even recently, I asked some godly people on a website for some advice, and the Lord then asked me – why did I ask them before going to Him first?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. WOW Jolie, thank you for sharing that. We ALL needed to hear that, including me. I believe we each must be sure we hear from the LORD clearly and have that strong relationship with Him, because we will need it more and more each day . . . as the days grow darker and darker. JESUS IS ALWAYS WITH US . . . even when the internet is not working and the electricity is gone.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I was reading Ezekiel 14:1-8 today (NKJV) and was surprised to see the words “these men have set up their idols IN THEIR HEARTS.” That’s where idols really “live.” They are not always visible material idols. They could be an idol of “pride,” etc. Anyway, “in their hearts”/ “in his heart” was mentioned 3 times in that passage……something to be contemplated……See especially, the end of verse 4 beginning ” I the LORD will answer them….” through verse 5, ’cause the LORD says He will “seize the house of Israel BY THEIR HEART…”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Peggy . . . Excellent point and Scriptural references, as well as confirmation. None of us can truly know if we have idols set up in our heart, unless the Holy Spirit reveals that to us, because we may think something is ok, “because most people have done this”, and it’s not okay with the LORD.
      Jeremiah 17:9 – “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?”

      LORD HELP US ALL TO BE FULLY SUBMITTED TO YOU, SO WE CAN BE CLEAN IN HEART IN YOUR SIGHT.

      Like

Comments are closed.