11-4-15 – A Word from the LORD: “OTHERS CAN, BUT YOU CANNOT”

Luke 9:23-24 –
And He was saying to them all, ‘If anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross daily and follow Me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake, he is the one who will save it.'” ~ ~ ~

Colossians 3:1-3 –
“Therefore if you have been raised up with Christ, keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth. For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is our life, is revealed, then you also will be revealed with Him in glory.”

image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This is a Word that I received yesterday (Tuesday, 11-3-15) for myself and at least one other person who reads this post. I sense somebody is going through a challenging situation and needs me to share this with you, so you know you are not alone. You are going through a “refiner’s fire”. It’s painful. You don’t like it, but you are being prepared for the LORD’s purposes and what’s ahead for you, will NOT look like a “traditional” Christian life. Be at peace and trust the LORD Jesus; He is the same yesterday, today and forever (Hebrews 13:8).

image

All of us go through days where we feel challenged in one way or another. Yesterday (11-3-15) was such a day for me. I was reflecting on these past couple of years that have been a “refiner’s fire” for me, especially since leaving ALL that I knew to obey the LORD Jesus. I was particularly missing the professional career I had in the United States, the finances, the networking events, the professional attire and the independence I enjoyed. . . ALL GONE.

image

I’m now in another country, where the LORD has blocked employment for me. There is seclusion in this semi-rural area where we rent a small one bedroom apartment, in the lower level of a house. Efforts to volunteer at a local homeless shelter or a retirement community were blocked. It was and is a “dying to self” process, that allows me to feel the dependence I have on the LORD and not on myself . . . AND to continue in this “refiner’s fire” . . . OUCH!!! (and “Thank you Jesus”).

image

I struggled through the day, and felt this heaviness around me. I know I’m at where I need to be and doing what the LORD wants me to do, but still this deep sighing while dying was happening. The “refiner’s fire” is NOT fun, but I did pray for the LORD to keep me in it, so His will can be done. I tried to take a nap for a bit and awoke to the Holy Spirit saying to me:

“OTHERS CAN, BUT YOU CANNOT.”

I understood instantly that the LORD was letting me know that there are things other Christians are able to do. . .they are in His will doing these things, but it’s not for me. I was also reminded of a paper I have been carrying around since the 1990s. I don’t know where I got it or exactly when, but this is the message from that paper for me and for somebody else right now, who is reading this:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Others May; You Cannot!”, by G.D. Watson

If God has called you to be really like Jesus,
He will draw you into a life of crucifixion and humility,
And put upon you such demands of obedience that you will not be able to follow other people.
You will not be able to measure yourself by other Christians.
In many ways He will seem to let other good people do things which He will not let you do.

Other Christians and ministers, who seem very religious and useful,
may push themselves, pull wires, but you cannot do it.
If you attempt it, you will meet with such failure and rebuke from the LORD
as to make you sorely penitent.

Others may boast of themselves, of their work, or their success, of their writings,
but the Holy Spirit will not allow you to do any such thing.
If you begin it, He will lead you into some deep mortification
that will make you despise yourself and all your good works.

The LORD may let others be honored and put forward, and keep you hidden in obscurity,
because He wants to produce some choice, fragrant fruit for His coming glory.
This can be produced only in the shade.
He may let others be great, but keep you small.
He may let others do a work for Him and get the credit for it,
but He will make you work and toil on without knowing how much you are doing.
Then to make your work still more precious,
He may let others get the credit for the work which you have done;
and thus make your reward ten times greater when Jesus comes.

The Holy Spirit will put a strict watch over you, with a jealous love,
and will rebuke you for little words and feelings, or for wasting your time,
which other Christians never seem distressed over.
So make up your mind that God is an infinite Sovereign,
and has a right to do as He pleases with His own.
He may not explain to you a thousand things . . . 

which puzzle your reason in His dealings with you,
but if you absolutely sell yourself to be His love-slave, He will wrap you up in a jealous love,
and bestow upon you many blessings which come only to those who are in the inner circle.

Settle it forever, then, that you are to deal directly with the Holy Spirit,
and that He is to have the privilege of tying your tongue,
or chaining your hand,
or closing your eyes,
in ways that He does not seem to use with others.
Now, when you are so possessed with the living God that you are, in your secret heart,
pleased and delighted over this peculiar, personal, private guardianship
and management of the Holy Spirit over your life,
you will have found the vestibule of heaven.

image    image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

WHAT ABOUT TODAY?

For me. . . . I’m doing much better, because I continue to turn back to Jesus to renew me from day-to day and sometimes it has to be moment-to-moment. Yes, the spiritual warfare HAS increased against the body of Christ, so we MUST keep focusing on Jesus, reading the Bible and listening to/obeying the leading of the Holy Spirit. These are the Scriptural Verses I was led to read this morning:

Psalm 62:5-8
My soul, wait in silence for God only,
For my hope is from Him.
He only is my rock and my salvation,
My stronghold; I shall not be shaken.
On God my salvation and my glory rest;
The rock of my strength, my refuge is in God.
Trust in Him at all times, O people;
Pour out your heart before Him;
God is a refuge for us.
Selah.

image

10-31-16 UPDATE:  I have been back in the United States since March 2016, to be here to assist in the darkest days this planet has ever seen.  Get ready folks, things are going to change “and suddenly”.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
PLEASE NOTE: ANY ADS LOCATED ON MY BLOGS ARE NOT MY CHOICE, NOR DO I ENDORSE ANY OF THE THEM. . . I have a free account from WordPress, which may place ads of their choosing on my posts. I suppose it’s a good example of “you get what you pay for”. Currently “free” is all I can afford, but THANK YOU JESUS, I’m able to do this at all.

18 thoughts on “11-4-15 – A Word from the LORD: “OTHERS CAN, BUT YOU CANNOT”

  1. Awesome! Thank you Jesus! I agree with you Linda — spiritual warfare is at an all-time high right now. I deal with this daily. Turning everything over to the Lord, is what we all can do right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AMEN . . . I believe most TRUE believers and followers of Jesus are dealing with this daily as well. We’ll ALL be glad when this is over and we’ll be eating at the marriage supper of the Lamb. . . . YUM!! Sometimes it’s good to imagine that kinda stuff too 😃

      Like

  2. I’m sure there are others, but I Know this word was for me too. Thank You, Holy Spirit, for Your unfailing guidance for our best good. And thank You for enabling us to follow Your leading. Thank you, Linda, for sharing.

    It occurs to me that you might not know this is Debra Walker. Increaseglory is my not-yet-populated blog on WordPress. I will copy existing posts from my old Flyhinter blog on Blogspot both to the page you’ve set up for us here (thank you!) and to Increaseglory as I have time. Blessings to you and your readers.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, Linda, thank you for being so open and honest with us! Yes, you were speaking to me as well. I too was sifted like wheat from approximately 2006 to 2009, with everything from a “sudden” heart ailment to being unemployed for months. But that time period was the most precious time with the LORD I’d ever experienced. Because I was at a point where I spent a lot of time with Him, seeking Him for guidance – then listening, He told me things that have forever changed me. It was during this time that He told me, “Clean Your House and Write.” The ‘Clean Your House’ part, I knew immediately had to do with some family relationships, etc., that I had to back away from and give totally to Him. But the writing part, I haven’t been totally faithful to – very sporadic until just recently. Now I see that the LORD seems to be calling many to this – those willing to be His voice, to speak to our corner of the globe, to our sphere of influence, as He leads. Thank you for your faithfulness!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are welcome, Diana. . . please start writing, as the Holy Spirit prompted you to do. There may be somebody who needs to read what you write. Blessings to you and thank you for stopping by 🌹

      Like

  4. Thank you so much for this word of encouragement!! It mirrors exactly what I have been struggling with in my heart these last few months, as I’ve drawn closer to The Almighty One. May He bless you and yours!!

    CSL

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I want to thank-you tremendously for everything you post. EVERYTHING is very helpful!
    I found out about you through seeing a link that you posted on Anita Fuentes’ site fairly recently regarding a dream. Keep up the outstanding work! God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Peggy, I appreciate the encouraging words. Please feel free to share any of my posts. I’m no longer on Facebook. There may be somebody else who may benefit from what the Holy Spirit is prompting me to share. Blessings to you and thank you for stopping by 🌹

      Like

  6. Yeah, me too. A few months ago the Lord turned off my business like a faucet. When I prayed for more projects to come as I had in the past, He said no, don’t pray for more. It’s been day by day since then. I know He has some amazing things coming, which I believe will begin when the shakings of judgment begin in earnest. But it’s been a humbling process of WAITING.

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing that, Mike. I think many of us have the “microwave mentality” . . where we want it now. . . and it’s not time yet. BUT . . better to go through this “refiner’s fire” here and be ready for what we need to do for the Kingdom of Heaven, and ultimately for the LORD’s return. . than to think we are ok, but heading into eternal damnation.

      Blessings to you and thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  7. Thanks so much for sharing your testimony, Linda (and for everyone else chiming in!) I had not understood why relationships were falling away, my passion for volunteering in the food ministry dried up, my health declined, etc in the past year. Basically, a stripping away of everything that made up my “life”. Everyone was wondering what’s wrong with me. And I was wondering this myself. Then weeks ago, it all started to become clear: this was purposeful so that this old wineskin could be made new. Today, I’m peaceful, praying, digging into the Word and learning a ton! I’m not alone in my journey-praise God! Others are going through it, too! Thanks again for sharing-God be with you.

    Like

    1. You are VERY welcome, Rebecca and thank you for sharing what you have been going through as well. I also had my health hit quite hard this year and have been recovering very slowly. It does make us feel like: “what am I doing wrong, LORD?” . . . when it’s as you said, “so that this old wineskin could be made new.” (yes, and we can add “OUCH” there, cause it’s not easy, along with a “THANK YOU JESUS”).
      Blessings to you and thank you for stopping by 🌹

      Like

  8. Hi. I am a very private person and recently “stumbled” upon your blog. Well… in my heart I know it wasn’t by chance. I can’t even put into words what I am feeling but simply put – thank you for your God filled words. May the Lord bless you and give you strength in these times we are in. I feel very lonely at times and that I am one of the many few feeling the way I do these days. I strongly feel we live in times that are not what they were yesteryear. Regardless, the Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. The 23rd Psalm brings chills up my surgically repaired spine every time I read it :). My flesh is weak but my spirit continues to battle. This life is not easy. I have a wife and two young children. I pray for them multiple times a day. I don’t know what else to do given the situations I see on this earth now daily. Lord Jesus have mercy on us!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Garry, a ((BIG OLE HUG)) to you, my brother. Times are difficult and more people are feeling how you feel than you know. It’s a part of the refiner’s fire to bring us even closer to Jesus. It’s very painful, challenging and filled with tears, but as we continue to press forward, the benefits are a closer walk with the One who died for us.

      When I read your comments, Psalm 62 came to mind for you:

      1 Truly my soul finds rest in God;
      my salvation comes from him.
      2 Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
      he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.
      3 How long will you assault me?
      Would all of you throw me down—
      this leaning wall, this tottering fence?
      4 Surely they intend to topple me
      from my lofty place;
      they take delight in lies.
      With their mouths they bless,
      but in their hearts they curse.
      5 Yes, my soul, find rest in God;
      my hope comes from him.
      6 Truly he is my rock and my salvation;
      he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.
      7 My salvation and my honor depend on God;
      he is my mighty rock, my refuge.
      8 Trust in him at all times, you people;
      pour out your hearts to him,
      for God is our refuge.
      9 Surely the lowborn are but a breath,
      the highborn are but a lie.
      If weighed on a balance, they are nothing;
      together they are only a breath.
      10 Do not trust in extortion
      or put vain hope in stolen goods;
      though your riches increase,
      do not set your heart on them.
      11 One thing God has spoken,
      two things I have heard:
      “Power belongs to you, God,
      12 and with you, Lord, is unfailing love”;
      and, “You reward everyone
      according to what they have done.”

      Blessings to you and thank you for stopping by . . . the LORD has plans for your life Garry. It’s not going to be what you think it is. . . . it will be destiny in Him that you were created to do.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.