9-6-15 – TESTIMONY: Shopping with the Holy Spirit

John 14:16-17 – “I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever; that is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you.” ~ ~ ~

Romans 8:14-15 – “For all who are being led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God. For you have not received a spirit of slavery leading to fear again, but you have received a spirit of adoption as sons by which we cry out, “Abba! Father!”…” ~ ~ ~

Ephesians 1:5 – “He predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will.” ~ ~ ~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Greetings everybody, I wanted to share with all of you about my day with the Holy Spirit (Saturday, 9-5-15); and my testimony of what happened.

According to the Scriptures, ALL true believers and followers of Jesus have the Holy Spirit abiding with us and in us. I believe that. . . it’s in the Bible . . . so I live accordingly. Jesus even told us, “. . my sheep hear my voice. . . ” (John 10:27). I believe that. .. it’s in the Bible. . . so I live accordingly.

Over the years of making POOR choices, I really understand the personal need to be led by and to follow the leading of the Holy Spirit. I can NOT make it in this life without HIM fully in my life and helping me make what to some are insignificant choices (and that’s not just a lovely “religious” thing to say . . it’s my reality).

image

Anyway, I had to run shopping errands yesterday, with a set amount of money I could spend and shopping list items that were more than the finances to cover them. So, here’s the Testimony of the amazing way the Holy Spirit helped me through my day (and this is available to EVERY true believer and follower of Jesus, if we keep seeking and asking Him):
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
TESTIMONY:

Generally I, like everybody else, just go to the store and purchase what I need (within the budget).

image

I take 3 lists (Costco, Dollar Store, Grocery Store), so I can get that task done. I really DON’T like shopping (excepting the treasure hunting in thrift stores), so I try to systematically get-er-done.

Because of the “financial shortage”, I had to prayerfully and carefully go shopping with the Holy Spirit. I started the “adventure” with a prayer asking for sales, what to buy, how much and what to not purchase (remember, more items than money to buy them). I also asked Him to bless the cash and stretch it, so I could make the necessary purchases and have some left over (so I could get some petrol for the car).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My first stop was the Dollar Store:

imageI thought I had my list, but couldn’t find it, so I prayed:   “Father, please bring to my mind what I need to get here”.

So shopping I went and the number of items I needed would come to mind as I shopped.

For example, I knew I needed to pick up some sugar; I was prompted to get 3 bags (these are small bags, not the larger bags), so I got them. I don’t know why I need that much sugar, but the LORD knows, He says, I obey.  So, on went that shopping stop, until I got the final prompted item. I had them ring up the items.

Hmmmm, for some reason, it was cheaper than I thought it would be.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
My next stop was Costco:

image

I went inside, then stopped to pull out my Costco list. Uh oh. . . where’s the list?

Ummmm, Ok, “LORD, please bring to my mind what I need to get here.”

So down the aisles I went, getting items the Holy Spirit would bring back to my memory. One item was even ON SALE (yee-ha, those special two words shoppers like to see).

So, I had them ring up the items. Hmmmmmm, for some reason, it was cheaper than I thought it would be. Interestingly enough. . . oh looky, the shopping list was in my pocket all along. .. but I did have a moment-to-moment shopping excursion with the Holy Spirit.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My final stop was Wal-Mart (oh, I know . . eeewwww, but for now, that’s where I have to pick up groceries):

image

I had my list for Wal-Mart, but it was going to be more challenging, because that list had waaaaay more than the dollars in my purse. So, again, I had to walk through prayerfully and carefully, with the Holy Spirit to know what to get, how many or if any at all. I finally finished that (eeewwww) shopping and had them ring up the items.

Hmmmmmm, for some reason, it was cheaper than I though it would be.
So, out to the car I go.  I get all of the items loaded up in the car.  Once inside the care, I stopped to count what was left of this Holy Spirit shopping trip, where I had more items to purchase, than money to buy them.  AND . . .

——–>I HAD $35.00 LEFT!!!

Hmmmmmmm, now I can get a bit of petrol for the car. THANK YOU JESUS!!! and a WOO-HOO to boot.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
SO WHAT WAS THE POINT OF SHARING THIS TESTIMONY?

When we learn how to listen to and obey the leading of the Holy Spirit in what most would consider “insignificant” things .. . we will ALSO be able to listen to and obey Him when the global demonic poo hits the fan. These Bible verses say it quite well:

Isaiah 30:20-21
“Although the Lord has given you bread of privation and water of oppression, He, your Teacher will no longer hide Himself, but your eyes will behold your Teacher. Your ears will hear a word behind you, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right or to the left.”

image

WORSHIP SONG:

“You Are My All In All” by Nicole Nordeman

4 thoughts on “9-6-15 – TESTIMONY: Shopping with the Holy Spirit

  1. This is great, Linda. I have to go to Costco in a couple days, too. 🙂 I have a list that I brainstormed items that would not spoil, and last for a while. Every time something came to mind, I add it to my list. But this is a good reminder to allow Him to walk us through the process. Last night (although I could barely sleep) I had a short dream that there was an “author” in my kitchen. He had a book/series on end times, and I was honored to see him. He seemed to know my worries, and he playfully asked, “Well, did you read my book?” Of course, I had. “And you followed the 12 steps?” I replied sheepishly that I had. He reassured me things would be ok. He was full of love and it comforted me a lot. Then I woke up.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s what I wondered..but he had on modern clothing, like a colourful plaid shirt & jacket..I guess the way you would picture an author to look today!

        Like

Comments are closed.